The last coal-fired passenger steamboat still in operation, Sabino was built at East Boothbay, Maine, in 1908 for passenger service on the Damariscotta River.

She bore her original name, Tourist, until 1922, when she was put into service on the Kennebec River. Later she was moved to Casco Bay, Maine, where she carried passengers until 1958. After remaining idle for several years, she became privately owned, and then operated as an excursion boat out of Newburyport, Massachusetts, until coming to Mystic Seaport in 1973.

Sabino is now preserved and cared for at Mystic Seaport Museum, where she is a working exhibit and part of the visitors' educational experience.

Daily from May through October, the sound of her steam whistle echoes throughout the Mystic River valley as her decks fill with passengers for an excursion into the past. Hourly sailings each day afford visitors the opportunity for an informative trip along Mystic Seaport's waterfront as well as a firsthand view of the operation of her steam plant. Nightly sailings head downriver to Fishers Island sound.

Design by Jonathan Cusson
Copyrights 2006-2008